Everything You Need To Know About The New Star Sign | The 411 | PLT

Everything You Need To Know About The New Star Sign

22 | 07 | 2020

So, unless you’ve been living under a rock right now you may have heard a little something on the cyber space not only about the star signs as you once knew them changing, but there’s also talk of there being a new star sign completely. Just when you thought 2020 couldn’t get any crazier, right?

Everything You Need To Know About The New Star Sign

Whether you’re happy with the change or downright outraged, here’s everything you need to know about the new star sign.


NASA’s discovery of a new constellation has led to claims that there are actually 13 Zodiac signs, not 12 as so many of us have so long believed (what is life?!) It’s safe to say, this news has left us feeling more than a little confused.

To break it down and give you the 411, astrological signs are determined by the sun’s position in relation to a constellation on your day of birth. Ancient astrologers charted the 360-degree path of the sun in a mathematically pleasing 12 equal parts, each one of 30 degrees. They studied an apparent relationship between the constellations and placements in the sky and the movement of the sun and thus the 12 star signs were born.


What is the new sign?

The new sign is called Ophiuchus. A bit of a mouthful, we know. Ophiuchus is said to lay between Scorpio and Sagittarius, which is why the change to the existing star signs has come about as they’ve had to move around to make way for the new sign, so to speak.


Why has Ophiuchus been introduced?

Despite the recent outcry surrounding Ophiuchus allegedly ‘new’ addition to the star signs, the idea for this new sign actually seems to have originated as far back as 1970, when astrologer Stephen Schmidt proposed a new, 14 sign zodiac.

Experts have said the Ophiuchus constellation has always been a part of zodiac and the Sun’s path in the sky (called the ecliptic), but it’s largely been left out of astrology. Until now.

The origins of the zodiac go back approximately 2,500 years when the Babylonians separated the sky into 12 different sections that happened to coincide with the 12 months on the calendar. They studied an apparent relationship between the constellations placements in the sky and the movement of the Sun and, thus, the 12 signs were born. The Babylonians saw the constellation of Ophiuchus, too, but since it didn’t fit neatly into one of these 12 slices, they decided to leave it out of the zodiac.

This is the first time Ophiuchus’ inclusion has been officially and more publicly recognised by the scientists at NASA.


What are the traits?

According to Zodiac Books, the traits and qualities of an Ophiuchus star sign are:

House Ophiuchus represented unity. Its people were spirited, magnetic, impulsive, clever, flamboyant, and at times jealous, power-hungry, and temperamental. At their hearts, they were healers who hoped to one day rid the zodiac of every ill disease, violence, etc. and bring everyone closer together.


What are the new star sign dates?

If you’re looking to keep up to date with the latest with the Zodiac or are keen to embrace the change when it comes to your own star sign, the new zodiac dates that have been proposed are as follows:

Capricorn: January 20 – February 16

Aquarius: February 16 – March 11

Pisces: March 11 – April 18

Aries: April 18 – May 13

Taurus: May 13 – June 21

Gemini: June 21 – July 20

Cancer: July 20 – August 10

Leo: August 10 – September 16

Virgo: September 16 – October 30

Libra: October 30 – November 23

Scorpio: November 23 – November 29

Ophiuchus: November 29 – December 17

Sagittarius: December 17 – January 20


Consider our mind blown.


What’s your “new” sign and are you loving or hating it?

back to all posts

we think you'll like